I didn’t get to blow my birthday cake

Turning 27 this year is just surreal. I can’t believe I’m already that old. It seems my age stops at 25. Anyway, my birthdays has never been extraordinary. It was just the same ordinary usual day for me. Life can be pretty complicated but I’ll end this blog with a redeemable events of story.

A part of me just felt excitement when I was waiting for 12 midnight. “I am turning 27!!!!” I said excitedly. I don’t know why. So, of course before I got to sleep, I whispered a little short prayer to God, “Thank You, Lord.”

My family greeted me with a simple “Happy birthday” and I responded with a “Thank you”. It is enough for me. But this time, I didn’t get to blow my candle because we didn’t celebrate it. I had a very busy duty at the hospital, overtime for two hours. It rained so heavily. Glad that my brother was near that place I get to go home at least. A simple dinner with siblings at Uncle Moe’s and a dessert at Lawson. Glad to spend it with them. To be honest, I am financially broke. As much as I wanted to celebrate my birthday with few true people in my life, MONEY HAS BEEN AN ISSUE. But I still have few here in my wallet so I had to treat my siblings at least.

Well, the highlight of the night, I received a call from my Dad. Where we did not have any communications ever since some unexpected events arose since this year started. But I really thank God from letting me hear his voice and letting me know that my father still cares for us.

I may not have blow a candle on my birthday but the glimpse of disguised blessings where my family can be save from unruly heartbreaks is enough for me to know that I still have such treasures.

I thank the Lord for the people He brought into my life. People who chose to stay despite of all the things that happened. True friends who rather accept my flaws than see the aching pretentious smile. Thank You, Lord for anoher year. I am expectant and excited to what lies ahead of me.

2 thoughts on “I didn’t get to blow my birthday cake

  1. Hi Ms Shekyna,

    I know this is so random, I just cant help it po e. I came across your FB account while stalking someone and I was very much inspired by your posts because I saw a glimpse of your relationship with our Father. Then napunta na ko sa twitter mo, and that led me here on your blog na medyo different from what I saw sa FB. Here kasi, I saw that you have struggles too, but MAS NAKAKAINSPIRE because you always give it all back to Him. That no matter what you are going through, you have faith that He is in control, and all glory is HIS. Nakakainspire po ang faith mo 🙂 I just dropped by to say that. Keep shining po! ♥ God bless you more!

    PS.
    I’m sorry I ended up stalking you too. *nahihiyang smile*

Leave a comment